The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

A country can either run democratically or dictatorially. Democracy is when people have a choice to choose the leaders and where people have a say in the important decisions pertaining the nation. Contrarily, dictatorship demands the citizens to obey the leader unquestioningly. In both the systems, the culture and environment that the leaders impart have a significant role in modelling the lives of the citizens. But to consider the effectiveness of a country’s leader by measuring the well-being of the citizens is in my opinion, very narrow.

Consider a dictatorial country like North Korea led by leader Kim Jong Un. The citizens of the country are probably living in a bubble created by their leader. The media of the country is restricted to display content censored by their leader. Young men have an obligation to join the army as soon as they reach a certain age and prohibited from pursuing careers of their choice. There are actually accounts of victims who have survived from the country wanting never to return there again. Even after such criticisms, we cannot fathom Kim Jong Un to be in-effective. Although the people are living in draconian conditions, that is majorly because of the effectiveness of their ruler’s power. The issue then fails to convey the meaning of effectiveness. The effect of a country’s leader can be both in a good or a bad way. In the example stated above, even though the citizens live in a fear, they have all the necessary facilities and amenities provided by the government. The subjectivity of the term well-being too should be considered in this case.

On similar grounds, democracy too sometimes portrays images that go against the given issue. India, having being colonised and exploited in the past, has recently gained independence in 1948 and still continues to be a developing nation. The latest prime minister Narendra Modi has brought in various reforms and schemes for the women and children as well as for rural citizens of the country. In the past, the country and its citizens had faced a glut of problems like farmer suicides and dearth of electricity and water supply in the rural areas. Still these problems are in the process of getting untangled but haven’t yet completely resolved. There are millions of people in the country who aren’t living in good conditions are their living standards are unconscionable. But that doesn’t mean the government is not being effective. Solving some convoluted public problems requires time and this factor should be considered while cogitating on the provided issue. The progress made by the country’s leaders in ameliorating the public’s situation should be considered rather than the well-being of country’s citizens.

Democracy being different than dictatorship has its own consequences too. In democracy, a group of leaders who form the ruling party lead the country, rather than one individual leader. When there are several people involved, difference of opinions is a common phenomenon. The whole point of politics these days has become only to swindle money, rather than doing any real public service. The victims of these practices are none other than the citizens of the nation. In such cases, the elephant in the room is whom to blame. One sole leader cannot be of any significance unless he has the support of his party.

Thus, we can conclude that the concept of well-being as well as effectivity is not black and white. To measure the effectivity of a government, many factors come into the play like the background of the nation, the progress achieved by the nation during the reign of that government, the candor of the members of the government and several others.