Essay topic 34: Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Government has a vital role in managing a society but perhaps promoting growth is one of the main purposes of any government. It is undeniable that the development and progress of modern world have been made by the scientific community. Although it is important for a government to devote fund to the scientific research with vague outcomes, I concede that the government should spend money on the scientific studies with high demand and clear-cut consequences.

To begin with, the advances of various aspects of science such as medicine depend on the demand of society. For instance, there are various types of vaccines available these days which have been developed from Small pox, Polio and hepatitis. As these diseases were considered fatal in the past, there has been an integral need for scientists to begin doing research to find out the treatments. Another example of scientific development is the privilege of international flights and cell phones due to rapid growing global economy in the 1900’s. Such progresses have been feasible because of purposeful scientific researches in consistent with the demands of society. Thus, funding the goal oriented and demanding scientific experiments will help to recognize the areas that provide not only optimal increase in beneficial scientific development but also meet the needs of a society rather than funding every research proposal.

In addition, science is a platform of practicality and experimentation which is most likely based on probability and chance. There are various areas yet to be scrutinized such as treatments of epidemics, global warming, education and other acute issues. To do the scientific research in such scopes requires financial support and if the finance is invested in abortive experiments, it would result in loss of money, time and efforts which could have been spent on fruitful researches and advancement of human’s life in general.

In contrast, one may argue that a research does not need a clear purpose to benefit society. Some scientific advances occurred based on scientific assumptions and knowledge pursuant that result in positive outcomes with significant impact throughout the world. One good example of this is Watson and Crrick’s discovery of the DNA helix structure which considerably contributed to the field of modern molecular engineering in producing and recycling natural energy. Thomas Edison invented the electronic light bulb and many other electronic devices which formed the rudiments for the development of high-tech devices accordingly. Hence, such advancement also needs to be supported at least by private institutions under the supervision of governments so as to motivate the researches and flourish the science. If they are not sponsored, either would they abandon research or would wicked purposes individuals abuse their ideas.

In conclusion, governments should allocate funds to scientific research which are demanding and incumbent to meet the society’s needs. However, other areas of research should be supported by private centers under the control of government to avoid any ill-intentioned plans.