Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

The history of law goes back to the Roman Law, the first recorded law ever. From since, law has been established in all sorts of society, and has amended itself so that it can punish crimes and protect the innocent. Although many minutia of law in all countries have been rectified, there still exist unjust laws as firm remnants, or due to resistance of the privileged. Therefore, citizens should obey the law as a whole, but should strive to rectify unjust laws.

First, every individual of a society must obey just laws because it is a criteria everyone has accepted to prevent evil acts. Living without the law means living without grounds to discriminate from right and wrong. Consequently, not only will a big disorder will occur when arbitrating conflicts between people, but also innocent and kind citizens will suffer loss, whatever its amount and kind. Therefore, people should follow just laws to keep the society running with its rules.

However, because unjust laws are also part of the law, it should be obeyed by people. As mentioned above, laws are a criterion of right or wrong. So, even though unjust, unjust laws are the only and the best rationale at the moment of deciding whether something is right or wrong. Also, Socrates’s famous quote, “Unjust laws are also a law” can be adduced, to support this claim.

Regarding how to act against unjust laws, people should strive to rectify them so that it can serve on the favor of virtuous, and most citizens, and no more people feeling unfair because of it. Take approval of homosexual marriage as an example. Before, homosexuality was banned strictly for the reason that it causes social disruption. However, recently it is increasingly being accepted and understood around the world, and more homosexuals are contending their rights to pursuit happiness like other people. Their efforts did actually change laws to permit marriage between themselves. It is observed that some homosexual couples move to these countries to live together under the protection of law. Therefore, unjust laws are to be subject to resistance so that it favors more citizens.

In summary, it is citizens’ duty to comply laws, whatever right or wrong, but must struggle to amend unjust ones. It can be recommended to all people to live their lives with respect to the law and endeavor to make a more just society by resisting to unjust laws.