Facts should not be trusted as they can be disproved in future

By definition, facts are information that have been proven true with reasonable and available evidence. however, some might argue the "availability of evidence" in the definition leaves room for invalidation of facts. Over the years, many facts have been debunked by the discovery of new information. There was a time the earth was considered flat and this information was universally accepted as a fact, however, many years later, through the use of a telescope, it was discovered that this universally acceptable fact was fallacious. are we then supposed to disbelieve every information that is known to man? And if so, how do we make scientifc discoveries, calculations and beliefs?

The realization of this problem is what defined the scientific community that we have today. The creation of the steps involved in the research of scientific facts was based on the need to have information that can be trusted by the scientific community. therefore, a scienfic process was created. The first step to any scientific process is the hypothesis or the assumption; this involves making educated guesses as to why a phenomenon is occuring. however, it is considered a scientific crime to automatically carry on an assumption to become a law without extensive research to the absoluteness of its application. The next in the scientific process is the testing stage, when a hypothesis is formed, the scientist is charged with the responsibility of proving the correctness of his hypothesis under varied conditions. if the hypothesis assumed does not fulfill the observed or expected outcomes, it becomes invalid, hence, it is either discarded or modified. Conversely, if the results of the extensive research shows the hypothesis to be correct, the scientist documents his results and shares it with a large audience of scientific researchers who in turn probes his discovery for loopholes. this system of check and balance is the pivot of the scientific community as it helps validify the information regarded as scientific facts.

The believe of the above process is that if the reason behind the occurrence of a certain phenomenon can be conclusively proven within available evidence/ circumstances known to man, it is possible to create technology which will work within these available situations, which is the goal of science.

One may however argue that the above process is still subject to the presence of available information. man can only probe what He knows. In this regard, it is possible to say that all information is questionable and possibly changeable in the future. it was believed that man cannot fly, however, the invention of aeroplanes provided a means by which man can fly to different destinations around the world. therefore, it is arguable that everything we know and believe to be true can be called to question with the innovation of a new device or theory.

conclusively, facts in its self are subject or limited to the knowledge available. hence, it is possible to believe that all we know can be changed one day, however, the presence of some facts proven to be true within available evidence is believed to be trustworthy enough to discover new information and is the bed rock by which the scientific community relies on.