The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether "rejection of the familiar things is necessary to acquire self knowledge?".Indisputably,in order to gain self knowledge sometimes it is preferable to think disparately but it doesn't mean to reject the familiar things we know.Thus,I generally disagree with the opinion that "The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar" and would argue that, "Experience and determination are the steps to self-knowledge".

First of all,I would like to point out that self knowledge is important thing to success in life.to illustrate let us look at the example of a well known organization "SPACE-X" which is founded by "Elon Musk" .During the process of landing the satellite at a specific place the company had failed five times and finally succeed at the sixth time.the point I want you to understand that it is not the rejection of the familiar that had constituted the success but both experience and determination of elon musk to learn from the past had contributed the success.

Admittedly, sometimes rejection of the familiar leads to success.This is true especially when you are trying to devise something or trying to learn something.For example ,Newton and Einstein had discovered many things by rejecting the familiar things and experimenting on the unfamiliar objects.However,the above argument doesn't constitute a sufficient support to claim that "The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar".Because it is not applying to all the facts and theories.

In conclusion, although "The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar" still holds at a certain level,as long as some measurements are performed it is what the experience and the determination are the key steps to self knowledge since both Einstein and Newton failed many times during their study and then identified their mistakes in the research and overcome that mistakes not by rejecting the old ones.In fact many quotes delivered by them are based on experiences and not on rejection,So ,I finally conclude that it is what the "Experience and determination are the steps to self-knowledge".