The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

Self-knowledge or understanding the true motives and behaviour of own self, it is required to get out of the familiar environment. I strongly agree with the statement. Every individual should get out of familiar atmosphere at any circumstances in their life. It will definitely helps them to identify their true potential or their true self.

For an example, a student who studying in their native country enjoys their life being there. She will be happy and enjoying life being surrounded by friends and family. She will not have any chance to worry about problems in her life. Everybody surrounding her life will definitely help her throughout her life. Hence she is not yet identified her true self and true potential as she always depends on her familiar persons. Once she decided to pursue her degree from a different country. In this case there are additional points she will study apart from the academic studies. She is going to live in an entirely different atmosphere which is unfamiliar for her. She would face lots of problems there. But in this case she cannot depend on someone and she would independently handling all the contingencies out there. And it is sure that it will augment herself to know more about her potential and what are her purpose.

In addition to the example, a person living in a society will undoubtedly accept and live with the beliefs and culture of the society. He does not have any thought about his self. He will easily make the culture as his habits and behaviour. Living in a familiar world will definitely be a manacle to know his true self or having a self-knowledge. He should stay away from his society and should live in a different place. The other point is to travel around an entirely different place and meeting people with different cultures. All these things will make himself to think about his own self. It helps him to identify his motives and behaviour.

If we look into a workplace, an employ doing same work since the beginning of his career. It will undoubtedly make him prolific in his job. But to know his potential he should confront with challenging task. He should try to do something different than his previous work. It will helps him to know his extent of ability.

In conclusion, to be an experienced person being in a familiar place will help to be an experienced person. But to know their true self and ability it should be necessary to reject the familiar world.