The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

The real talent of an artist can be accurately assessed even when he is alive. Even when he still contributes more compositions. He can identify his talents from his or her current works. Maybe he will progress in future. So that can also assess from his or her work. But I don't think it is accurate to assess his talent at the beginning of his career. Every person will not show their skill at the beginning of their career. It will take time to study the field and practising more in the field will enhance their skills. But it is not necessary to wait till several generations after his death.

Consider a music composer who contributes several compositions and the audience has a positive response to him. There are so many people who love his compositions and it does not interfere with his fame. Because they are just music lovers. Nowadays there are so many musicians who became popular through the internet. This is only because of their talent and not because of their background or fame. People tried to focus on real talent and they accept musicians' real talent without considering their fame or background.

But on the contrary to this point, I have to add one more thing. There are still nepotism exists in these industries. For example, a Bollywood actor who committed suicide because of clinical depression was an actor with real talent. But none of the co-actor and other crew members acknowledged him during his career. The jury also did not consider his work for awards. The award-winning candidate was a much lesser talented person than him. He didn't get acknowledgement from any of the senior celebrities also. All these things lead to a conspiracy among the audience. They are not satisfied with all these unequal treatments. His death was due to some personal reason, but the co-actors and other celebrities started talking about his talent after his death. But this leads to a talk about nepotism among the audience. They strongly stood for that actor's real talent. So I think the audience is capable of assessing real talent when he is currently working in his career. This is just an example of another industry. But every industry is also similar to it.

In conclusion, It is not necessary to wait till several generations after death for assessing the real talent of a popular musician. Nowadays the audience is capable of assessing the compositions without being interfered with by his background and his fame. But some of the cases are interfered with by their fame in the industries.