The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The author asserts that to know ourselves, we have to reject the ideas that is already ingrained in our mind. I agree to a great extent that the familiar knowledge of the world and its surrounding can pollute the judgement of our own. In fact, the world will always try to force their notion to us. However, the meticulous knowledge of ourselves, our emotions and characters cannot be obtained if we sever the connection to our surroundings.

To begin, I concede to the author's view of rejecting what we already know to learn about our corporeal or spiritual nature. Since birth, most of the people have been taught or spoon-fed the knowledge by the society. The capacity of any human being to understand matters by observing the surrounding will definitely degrade if everything is brought to us by someone or something. The present world has been focusing on education so much that the true meaning of education or learning is seem to be obscured. We are provided with books, televisions, internet and every other item that already have discovered fact and the same is consumed by our brain thinking to be factual. The knowledge of our human body is taught to us by text books in schools. The functions and characters we perform are dictated by the community, customs and traditions. All these information or the knowledge of ourselves, apparently true, is derived and fixed by others rather than our own observation. Every human being need to renounce these information in order to start their journey of knowing themselves.

Moreover, every person in the world is different. The physiology, psychology, physical traits, characters, ideas, etc. differs from one another in much respect. These variations could not be judged or premeditated by some guidelines designed by an individual or a group. The knowledge of ourselves will truly be defined only when we abjure the ideas that have been planted onto us.

However, all the credit cannot be given to the author's view. It is also true that the knowledge of the nature, idea of differences with others and the surrounding factors plays much important to know our own value, physicality and spirituality. For instance, a child, if left alone in the jungle since its birth, would hardly learn enough to know about his skills, his body functions and the kind of person he is. One can argue that humans have come living in the jungle alone to this level of advancement by themselves. But the progress did not happen in one life cycle. Thousands of years of struggles of many generations caused the accumulated knowledge to pass through the time and made us reach this point now. The child would be as equal to a wild animal who knows only to hunt or feed someone else. He would not learn his brain is much advanced than other creatures. All the knowledge to learn about ourselves is bound to be provided by the society. It is us who should filter what to take and what to reject for learning about oneself.

To sum up, the author is providing a wonderful insight to how someone can start their way to explore themselves. But, the role of the previously known ideas, traits, characteristics difference with others, etc. are equally important for acknowledgement of self-knowledge.