A memo to the board of directors of a company that delivers heating oil says that northeastern United States will have an experience of increased demand of heating oil in next five years relying on the evidence that recent year, the region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures in last heating season and more homes are being built with the population growth. To make the prediction presented in the argument reasonable, the company must answer three questions.

Firstly, the memo presented the data of increased demand in last year in that region. Will the demand continue in the next years? Is not possible that the weather will change in next years? Perhaps, the weather might get changed and the people of that region will use less fuel in future. For instance, the temperature of any region varies in year to year and no one can predict surely about the future year exact weather condition using only one year weather data. So, to justify the claim, the company should provide more research data.

Secondly, will the people always rely on oil use rather than other sources of power? Will people not look for other sources for heating? Perhaps people will use gasolines for heating rather than oil and it is also known that the cost of environment for the use of use of gasolines is less in amount comparative to use of oil. So, it might be possible that people will get more dependent on gasolines rather than oil in upcoming future. So, to justify the claim that people will depend on oil only in future, the company should provide more reliable data.

Finally, does building up new homes mean increase of more oil consumption in northeastern United States permanently? Perhaps, it might not be true. It might be possible that people of other regions are building up homes in this region of the country. They are possibly building new homes for travelling purpose or business purpose. So, to ensure that building up new homes refers to more oil consumption in future five years, the memo should have had more specific data.

In conclusion, it can be said that to evaluate the prediction showed in the argument, the memo should be enriched with some answers of the questions narrated above, then the prediction will be ready for next evaluation that the region will need more oil delivery in future five years.