The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc."A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks ar

According to the memo, the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock suggests that the company should stop the use of the Endure manufacturing process due to his analyzation. To support his idea, he tells us that people bought their socks every three months which are strong enough for two years, in this point some of their customers says the Endurance manufacturing is a watse of money,and the survey in the largest market shows their customers like more colors and styles of the socks. While this statement is probelmatic because there are some loopholes in it, so let's evaluate them carefully.

To begin with, the customers' opinion that the Enduring manufactruing process wasting money is not well supported. Because the stastitic data is not precise which the survey does no show how may cunstomers involved in it. Maybe only a few customers took the survey which can not represent all the customers' idea. Thus we can no conclude this process is wasting-money.LIkewise, the new study shows the preference of howmany times for cunstomer for purchasing their socks is not well supported with out the whold data of the survey.Maybe the customers found the socks of Dura-Socks are cheaper than its competitors, thus they wanted to buy more before the company rise the price.

In additon, the survey of the largest market is not persuasive as it can not reflect all of the sale condtion of this socks. Given the author tells us the customers of northeast of US , where is the largest market of ths socks show their preference on the socks which suggest it is not the endurance but the styles and colors which attract them. Firstly, this regional case could not represent the whole situations, in other word, if the process stopped , there maybe other areas where the customers like the socks' endurance. Secondly,how many customers of the norheast of US involved in this survey is not metioned in this memo, thus we can not conclude the customers do not like the socks's endurance anymore.

Finally, the vice president narrows down the way of making profits which would be a tragedy to the company. As we know, there are many ways for a company to get more profits. Firstly , they can control the cost of products. Secondly, they can invent more competitive products to customers, in the light of the preference the vice president notes, like colors and styles. Thridly, the can make more marketing to bring more profits like advettisements and sales. In this memo, the presidents just want to stop the controversial Enduring Manufacturing Process. It would not be a wise choice before the president discovering the real condition of these socks.

In conclusion, I do not agree with the vice president idea that stop the process to make more profits. The evicendence to support this idea is not convincing by the survey. I suggest the vice president should make a wide survey to find out the different preferences on their products in different regions, then he should sugget the company whether to stop the process or alternate the sale strategies in parts.