Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In contrast to the statement, I consider that while formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits, some curriculums still set them free.

Formal education tends to make all students in the nation study the same curriculum so that the government can choose the part that they want to let their students know. The government can choose some parts that are conducive to their reputation and eliminate the parts that are detrimental to them. For example, there was a miserable event in Taiwan about seventy years ago. The government made a terrible decision, which made some people dead. Therefore, nowadays there is a celebration that memorizes those people. However, when our school learns about this event, the book only talks very little about it. It makes students can not easily realize the whole event.

Moreover, Formal education also teaches students what is wrong or what is correct. It can control our minds and spirits when we make the decision. For instance, our school teaches us that we can not hit others no matter what he or she roars at you. We need to be calm about their provocative words and do not fight with them. However, does such a way be the best or only approach to cope with them? Some poeple will consider that we need to repel back so that they will not bully again. Therefore, many of us are influenced by formal education.

However, there are more curriculums in formal education that give students more decision to choose what they want to learn. They can choose the class that has a different view with the major of the society. They will not be restrained by the school that asks.

In my opinion, I consider that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits, while sometimes it still set them free.