Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

The issue that whether formal education tries not to set our mind and spirit free rather to limit them is a contentious one. While each side has strengths and weaknesses but I agree with the topic. Because normally students never learn anything out of the syllabus plus, they hardly get any chance to look for anything out of syllabus due to its huge volume. In addition, basing on those formal results the higher field of study is determined so parents also discourage their kids to study anything out of syllabus.

Students are always reluctant in gathering knowledge that does not come in the exam. They keep revising the same topic for the excellence in the exam, even few of them memorize the topic with understanding just to obtain more marks. This is very dangerous, it not only restricts our mind and spirit but also deject our heart to learn more. Hence, formal education restrain our mind and spirit.

Secondly, now a days the syllabus for the students are so huge that they hardly get any chance to glance outside of those listed topic. And most of these topics are superficial, they never go deep into the topic. Moreover, this education system doesn’t even allow students learn extensively because they are too busy in completing the syllabus.

Thirdly, public exams are held basing on these syllabus, whose results give the recognition- which field, he will continue his higher education. Like, the top scorers will be selected for engineering which will be followed by doctor and other professions. So, basically parents discourage their children to study anything out of the syllabus because that’s not going to help them in getting selected for engineering or medical science. That’s why formal education with limited syllabus limits student’s mind & spirit.

On the contrary, some may argue that, limited syllabus is good enough to explore student’s knowledge which is flowed. Because free thinking never comes being confined within the list of topics. As like, Newton, S.Hawking they all were free thinker and never restricted themselves within the listed topics. Hence, selected knowledge as per syllabus never allows our mind to explore freely.

In conclusion, formal education never allows us to explore anything without syllabus due to its volume moreover, parents also doesn’t allow their children to waste time in learning something which will not help them in score better in public exams.