Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The word 'formal' itself brings with it a very strict and restricted connotation. In the contemporary world, every kid is expected to do 'well' in school. The definition of a good student or an 'A' grade student is given by some number that is obtained on a test with questions pertaining to one particular field.

As absurd as it sounds, unfortunately, that is the type of education system that we are currently following.

When a child is born, he/she is bubbling with curiosity. We would have definitely seen hyperactive kids breaking things while learning to use them. They try to learn things by doing and making mistakes which is the practical approach. Essentially, every human being is a scientist when he/she is born.

An interesting phenomenon happens when the kid reaches the age 5. They were a uniform and lose the ability to think. They are put in a confined environment and are subjected to dogmatic teaching where rarely questions are encouraged. The worst part of this system is when we label them with numbers and categorize them as 'good' and 'bad'.

Most of the kids lose their enthusiasm and curiosity by the time they reach adolescence. This can be attributed to the way they are treated in the name of education. Most of them do not understand the practical applications of the subjects they learn at school which causes further aversion towards the subject. These problems can be solved by a way of teaching that does not impose any restrictions on the students and engages hem actively by making them feel that their contributions matter.

There are so many school and college dropouts who made a mark for themselves in this world. Be it, Bill Gates or Mark Zuckerberg, their discoveries changed the world. Albert Einstein was not a very bright kid at school and now students who solve his highly complicated problems are known to be intelligent. There are plenty of examples like this.

Schools in Finland encourages the kids to participate in various activities apart from formal education like volunteering, gardening, and peer-peer learning. This approach will definitely contribute to a holistic development of a student and expand his or her horizons. There are also schools in Japan where the kids cook their own meal or cook for their schoolmates.

Many discoveries, breakthroughs, revolutions etc... has only happened because somebody dared to dreamed and rebelled against the conventional way of thinking or questioned the old school of thought.

Unfortunately, the formal education system that we currently have imprisons the kid's brain and uproots all the new, crazy ideas that blooms within.

The ultimate aim of education is set a human being free, make him/her an independent thinker which will help in building a healthier society. Any system opposing that defeats the very purpose of it.

However, one should not forget that the formal education has so far done a pretty decent job of making responsible citizens and provided us with ample knowledge to survive the world. While the entire system is not flawed, it will be better if the scope of education is expanded and more freedom is provided. Ultimately, if the citizens of the nation are benefitted the country as a whole improves.