Government should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

These days, scientific research and developments in many fields are accelerated by government and industry funding. However, if anyone doesn’t care whatever the research is going on, we can’t predict whether the research will affect us in a good way or a bad way. To reduce this predictable problem, I think the government should place a few restrictions on scientific research and development. I will suggest main two reasons why the government should watch this research.

First, if there is no limitation, some research can be dangerous to the public. Let’s imagine there is research for experiments about nuclear physics. If a government doesn’t restrict safety policies for the experiment, it may cause radiation leaks. It will increase any danger not only community near the experiments conducted but also to the cost of solving those problems. If the government restricts such experiments for safety purposes, damages and cost of restorations will not be increased. In the case of this example, restrictions mean saving our lives and wealth. To diminish any hazards from scientific research, any restrictions related to public safety must be a prerequisite.

Secondly, some scientific topics are very sensitive for nations where the government consists in. Science has no nationality but a scientist who conducts scientific research has. For instance, these days, semiconductors are very important to many countries. It is widely used in various applications so many industries and nations are depending on this technology. Because of this reason, they recognize those technologies are their strategic resources. Therefore, the government should consider keeping its intellectuals in control.

Conclusively, the restriction is important to keep scientific knowledge. Indeed, creativity is also important to developing science. However, the restriction does not limit scientists’ sight of views but tries to encourage scientists along with public worth. If any scientific research causes destructive results to its community, the scientist may feel frustrated. So, the government should place at least any restrictions on scientific research and development to save the worth of all people.