Governments officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Government officials have the power to affect the society greatly, depending on the decisions they make. Even though no decision can satisfy all people, it is still mandatory to make the most efficient choice. I believe that the government officials should flexibly choose between the judgment and the will of the people they serve.

First of all, there could be situations where governments should rely on their own judgement, especially when what people they serve desire is unjust. In the United States, there is a famous idiom that describes such sensation, feeling of the gut. It is confound to distinguish whether people's desire is based on their selfish and greedy needs, or if it's for the nation's welfare. In such situations, the government officials should figure out with the feeling in their guts to make a choice that is best for everyone. I would like to mention one of the famous cases in South Korea as an example. Once, an extremely controversial policy which forbid people from watching lurid videos was on the process of being accepted. The society divided into a dichotomy, causing a majority of the men to protest against it, and majority of the women protesting against men who opposed against the policy. The men protested that it was their right to watch any types of videos as they desired, which might seem plausible, however, many morbid sexual transgressions were usually a imitation of what the criminals had watched in the videos. Eventually, even though the voice of the men was much more powerful than women's, the government officials determinedly pursued with accepting the policy, which enabled a better consequence. Many young children and adults got detached from such videos, and led to a decrease in the number of innocent women getting involved in such truculent criminality. If the government had simply followed the will of the people they served, especially those who have a powerful voice, without any suspicion, then the consequence would not have been this positive.

Furthermore, there are also times when the government should carry out what the public desires. Sometimes, it is arduous for the officials to create policies that are germane to the actual reality. This may not be representative for all the nations, but the government officials are usually born in a prestigious family who did not have any experience what the common people faced every day. Because of this, the government officials have the propensity to stick to the theory instead of altering the policies in a malleable way to make it apposite to the reality. In such cases, it is better for them to listen to the public's voices instead of pursuing with their own judgments. For example, one of the former presidents who became phenomenal due to being the first female president in South Korea, acted out in certain ways that the public did not understand. The government officials were too timid to dare speak out and question the actions against the president. However, the public started getting dubious about the suspicious behaviors, accusing the president of being guilty in causing felonies. The minority of the officials started listening to the public and collected evidences that are potent to make the president guilty. Eventually, the public and the officials turned their backs on the president, who got sentenced to jail. If the government officials had not listened to the public and simply followed their timorous will, they would not have been able to forestall the transgressions the president was pursuing.

To sum up, sometimes what people wish could be unjust but could also be extremely pure, pursuing for the nation's welfare. I believe that the government officials should flexibly apply either their own judgment or carrying out what the public desires, on situations where each choices are more apropos.