Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

When immediate problems occur, it tends to be urgent and crucial to the people, and governments should take action solving it. On the other hand, problems in the long-term, which might cause permanent harm to the nation, should also receive equal attention from the government. It should give no bias towards the two situations.

When short-terms problems occurred, such as natural disasters and diseases. The government should focus on the issue because if the emergencies cannot be solved, let alone solving long term issues. For example, after the 311 earthquake strikes Japan, the nuclear waste leak polluted the oceans and crops, and the tsunami destroyed thousands of houses and people. When facing those immediate problems, the Japanese government set aside all other issues in the nation, decreased fundings from other policies to support the damage caused by the earthquake to rebuild their home. Lots of nuclear experts joined to prevent nuclear water from dissipating in the ocean and farms. When facing such immediate problems, there is no doubt that governments should focus all their attention and resources to solve the problem.

On the other hand, a nation should also take care of its wildlife and environment, develop vaccines to prevent diseases and to plan solutions if there is an economic recession. Although we cannot see those efforts in public, they have significant potential to prevent future disasters. For example, in Taiwan, our government spends lots of money on providing health care and develop vaccines. Although some of the public thinks that its a waste of money to provide such affordable medical services, however, when a flew occurred in Taiwan, it can usually be easily destroyed and prevented in an early stage thanks to our well-established medical system. Therefore, governments focusing on long-term issue is also essential for preventing future problems.

While no one will doubt the government focusing on immediate issues, focusing on future anticipated issues is also essential and should be done simultaneously by the government because the governments have access to more information and advice from experts than its people. They have the responsibility to solve future problems even if its civilians doubted it. After all, we are a democratic society. The government should explain the reasons for solving future problems. Therefore, as a nation, we can prevent future problems while eliminating current ones.

Governments should focus on immediate and future problems, and no side should be preferred.