Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

I agree with the recommendation that governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future. The problems of the present outweigh the problems of future and deserve a significant chunk of valuable and limited resources of governments.

Today's problems are real and need to be solved. The anticipated problems of the future have a sense of uncertainty associated with them. They may actually turn out to be completely different from what we expected of them. There are cases in the past of governments neglecting the existing and apparent problems of declining education and healthcare, and choosing to focus rather on building the infrastructure for the anticipated utopian future that never came about.

People elect governments for their representatives to solve existing problems. Most of the problems of future have their roots in the negligence of today's seemingly minor issues. Solving the problems of present may actually turn out to be helpful in the future. Improving healthcare in the present could save entire nations from fatal epidemics of future.

However there are exceptions like global warming and rising sea levels that the scientific community is so sure of. In such cases preventive measures are a no brainer. Getting ready for the future ensures stability in the long term. If not stability, these measures are sure to at least provide us with a buffer time for us to respond.

While there exist problems of future that we need to be ready for, they cannot outweigh the importance and urgency of the immediate problems that are so real and in need of immediate action.