Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Art, as once the most prominent hallmarks of an era, has long fallen to the wayside. From the time of the ancient Greeks, through the Roman age, all the way into the Renaissance, these periods of time have always been epitomized by their art; the intricate and realistic Greek statues and temples, the grandeur of Roman architecture, the religious paintings of the Renaissance. Although their time periods sets them apart, one thing binds them together: the commonality that these works of art are all patronized by those in power.

In contrast to the styles that have set these time periods apart, art in the modern era has become obscure and synonymous with the elite. In an era where those with strong fists speak the loudest, art is looked down upon, and practitioners scorned. However, total war and further expansion of the military is unnecessary and unrealistic. A single missile can travel halfway across the globe and kill thousands. An all-out war between nuclear powers will end all humanity on earth.

If the military budget was to instead be used by the government to sponsor art, with a budget surpassing the military budget of the next 25 countries, there will be a new modern Renaissance. Art would regain popularity as a mainstream form of media, and would no longer be scorned upon. It would create a widespread boom in the economy in many different sectors, as artists would require not only equipment and materials, but a workplace, as well as places of inspiration to draw from. It would encourage conservation of both the landscape and of many different species. The arts not only encompasses painting, but also architecture. Funding will encourage the exploration of many different types of buildings and places to inhabit, some of which will help combat the increasingly hostile climate due to the current industries used for war.

To sum up, investment in the arts will not only mitigate the negative effects of the industry of war, but also be a boon to many aspects of the economy. While the military is important in tumultuous times, advancements in technology renders an insubordinate amount of investment superfluous.