Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military

The statement provided for discussion is that 'Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military'. To agree or disagree with this statement there are a number of pointers that need to be understood in depth. First, what is the form of investment that we are considering here. Second, what are the varied resources available to the Government to make this investment. Third, what are the different areas in which the Government can make investments. Fourth, what all is considered inclusive of arts and military in the context stated by the author.

There are various areas in which a Government provides support and makes investments for its country such as Arts, Science, Human development, Military, Technology, Aeronautics, Medical capabilities etc. The Government has different advisory groups that come up with various initiatives to make strides in a particular area. These ideas and initiatives are then discussed in multiple sessions and based on the priorities, available resources and budgets the Government allocates a fixed amount for every area for a particular number of years. The investment made by the Government can be in different ways such as capital allocation, resource allocation such as permission to perform a particular activity, support in the form of advisory and so on.

When we consider Arts as a individual area, it can encompass a wide variety of elements. Arts could include preserving and promotion cultural elements and art forms such as music, paintings etc, redevelopment and maintenance of museums and monuments of historic significance, inclusion of cultural heritage in school curriculum, financial support to artists and small businesses or support for development of new art forms. Investment in arts is extremely important for a country for various reasons such as it leads to the economic growth of a country, allows a country to retain its cultural diversity while also becoming a part of a globalized world.

Military development on the other hand is extremely crucial to save a country, its people and its economy. Military development includes training of the military forces such as the armed forces, naval forces, intelligence and investment in missiles and other warfare armour. A country has to develop its military forces on an ongoing basis as it can never predict when and how it might be attacked and would have to save it self.

Although I agree that a good amount of investment needs to be done in the arts for any country, I do not believe that it should be eating from the resources allocated to development of military forces. The Government needs to allocate budgets and resources in a efficient manner to ensure that all areas are well developed and that the the country functions in a smooth manner.