Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Governments are the governing body of the country which looks after the important decisions for the welfare of the nation. Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military is a contradictory statement.

The military of any country comprises of any huge man force army, tanks, warships, nuclear weapons, etc which is very costly. The major purpose of the military is of nation security from other hostile country. However art is the field which is used as hobby by the humans for their entertainment. Arts is a vast field which includes literature, songs, poetry, paintings, etc.

In the well secured nation people can live in peace and harmony. Attacks on Kuwait by Iran in late nineties show that due to low military power how Kuwait got defeated and the whole nation was under siege. Many local people were killed and looted by Iran's army. This shows how important it is to have a strong military force. For having a strong military, nation should spend money for it. Besides art is just a lucrative need of a society. It will be very fatal mistake for any government to invest same amount of money as in military services.Besides the cost for developing arts wiz art galleries, theaters etc are very low as compared with military expenditures.The strength of military can make the county's name prestigious on the world map.

Therefore, governments cant afford to spend such huge amount of money for entertainment purpose. Art is also one of the important part of human life but, from government point of view nation's security should be the first priority.