Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and suppor

Arts and Military go a long way in defining the country's culture and strength. They are the two of the most crucial pillar of the foundation of a country. The recommendation provided for investing equal amounts in arts and military is too generalized and there are various factors that one should consider and analyze.

Firstly, Arts play a defining role in society. For example, Italy - the home of Renaissance, the paintings and culture define the aura and atmosphere of the country. Every ruler or person of significance commissioned paintings for which an amount commensurate to their rank was sanctioned. The result is evident in the form of beautiful cities that include Rome, Venice and many others. The sculptures of Leonardo da Vinci and paintings of Picasso are awe-inspiring. While the point of discussion is the vital role of arts, there is no strong evidence even in Olden Italy to suggest that higher investment or an investment equal to military is required. It may not be necessary that such huge investments like that required for military is essential for arts.

Military is essential to create a powerful image of a country. This in turn leads to intimidating any potential future invaders. A strong military means huge investment. These investments are required for research and buying defense equipments which often cost billions of dollar and are significant proportion of a country's GDP. India, which is one of the largest buyers of defense equipment, spends greater than 10% of its GDP on military and defense but is culturally very rich without having similar amounts of investment in arts. Moreover, if a country is not strong enough then any amounts of investment in arts will not help shape the society as the country would be susceptible to invaders who could plunder through troves of Architectural marvels. This is evident from Iraq and Afghanistan where beautiful sculptures of ancient times were blatantly destroyed by the fanatics.

It is very important to note here that only a country that is stable can afford to invest equal amounts in arts and military. An unstable country will have to keep increasing its military budget thereby severely circumscribing the amount that can be spent on other things including arts.

To conclude, it depends on the state of the country and also the affordability for a country to follow the recommendation provided as investments depend on various external factors and this cannot be taken as a general recommendation.