Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The nations defense is a major responsibiity for any government taking due regard of the safety for the citizens, although arts takes the interests of the people to new heights and helps the nation to flourish.

Every country is unique and has a tapestry of cultures and religions. Arts in the form of music, literature, theater etc -play a major role in promoting and preserving this diversity. Take India for instance, there are so many religions and spoken languages in different parts of the country- all these diverse societies need their cutlture and heritage a voice, to resonate througout the coming generations.With promotion to arts people get a chance to portray their ideologies and spread their communal qualities which the world can see or experience by their works.

Not only in preserving the culture, exemplary personalities who have exceptional performance in the field of Arts help their nation to put a mark at a global level. People with talent can no longer be harbingered by their race or religion, their works help themselves and thier countries to shine and get recognition. This promotes the countries economy as well since many foreign countries visualize the ability of the nation as a whole when sich eminent personalities showcase their talents.Take Rabindranath Tagore or Arundhati Roy for example, India has put a mark in literature and people all around the world recognize India's litrary standards all for such talented personalities works.Therefore equal investments towards arts would give impetus to more people showcasing their talents and put their countries name high.

Notwithstanding the the merits of equal investments in Arts, we need to realize the fact that the nations safety is also equally important. Brave men show their gallantry for their nations at the cost of their lives- no money can every commensurate for their contributions towards their mother-land. Martyr's should be given special compensation, especially thir families who have lost their loved one need to be supported financially. Funds need to be allocated for good military equipment as well, a weak country will is always susceptible to foreign hostility. Therefore a large amount of funds should be preserved for military interests.

Governments need to strike the right balance in investing between the two highly useful resources. Although giving impetus to arts seems promising, they should not forget that military is also equally important instrument of the nation.