It has been suggested that goverments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military. I disagree with this statement and believe that military investment is vital for survival of nation while art is doing fine without goverment funding. This essay will first present view on importance of military investment and then talk about why investment in art must not be high.

All goverments in the world are worried about their national security from threats within and outside the coutry. All nations have invested sizable portion of their economy into the development of the armed forces. USA in largest spender in terms to money. It has one the strongest military in the world. It spends trillions of dollars in develpoment on new technology with has made USA superpower. This army has been constantly involved in one conflict after another in order to protect its national interest and maintain its domination over the world. Investment in military have great benefits: investment made by US Airforce in development of CNC machines has revolutionised manufacturing, development of Jet engines was done by the US Airforce. There are such developments that have made out lives easiler today. This wars and technology development are expensive and require goverment funding. Security of the nation cannot be trusted in private hands.

I do not think there will be any country that has invested more money in art compared to its military. Art is often seen as iteam of luxury and if goverment spends money in acquiring or promoting art it will always be frowned upon by the public. Goverment has no use of art.This has kept goverment investment in the arts limited to few national awards and development of few universities that teach art. While people may argue that art is very important, it has no direct impact on day to day life of its citisens. Art has been greatly funded by private donations. Artist sell there work at various platform and make money. Goverment involvment in art is not required. On other hand, military cannot be controlled by private parties and hence goverment spends huge amount of money in mordernisations and upkeep of army.

Goverment should definetly spend more money on armed forces compared to art because they are responsible for defending nation against external threats, important for development of technology and army cannot be controlled by private parties. While goverment must encourage art, its funding should be limited as it's importance is low comapred to Technology, economy and Agriculture. Art is luxury and not a necessity. So, goverment funding on military must always be higher than goverment funding of art.