Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The investment a country's government makes, has an effect on the country and its peoples future. The prompt states,"governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military". It seems from the prompt that the government invest more in the military sector and relatively less on arts. I agree with the statement, but not completely as the government takes decisions on where and how much to invest, depending on the situation.

Firstly, more the investments are made in arts, the more number of people shall get involved in it. For example, if there aren't much investment made in arts, then less people shall opt it as a career, as they do not make much money out of it. Spending on military is important, but it is equally important to spend on other sectors as well. It is not only enough to protect the country, but also important to keep the civilians engaged in the country's culture and improvise it by getting them involved in arts and sciences. Getting people involved in arts is one way of expediting the move towards world peace.

In addition to that, art attenuates a country's culture and through good art, a country's pride increases. For instance, When we talk about a country, we often look into the great art and inventions created by its people in the past. The united kingdom is pride about shakespear and his work, italy about michelangelo, india about taj mahal and other great art forms, etc. It is art that increases the value of a country. All these had occurred because the then rulers and governments invested greatly in art. Shahjahan invested so much to build taj mahal, which is one of the seven wonders of the world. Only when art is supported, it shall give back great outcomes.

In contrast, as i had stated in the beginning, investments made by the government depends on the country's current situation. For example, if the country is in the middle of a war, it is obvious that the government would invest its wealth on military rather than art, because the peoples lives are more important than art. When the peoples lives are at stake, the government divert its spending towards the military sector in order to keep the people and the country safe. In such situations it would be bizarre to spend money on art rather than military.

In conclusion, the investments made by the government always depends on the country's current situation. Investing on both art and military is important, but their magnitude varies depending on the situation the country is in.