Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In our modern society there is always a question about governmental money distribution arising. The author implies that the authority ought to spend money on the arts at least as much as on the military. Although it is rather controversial issue hence every government should consider themselves what is better in their current situation, I am inclined to think that art expenses dominating military expenses in the long-run will lead to the better furure for all countries in the world.

First of all, there is a famous statement that the politics separates nations, while the art unites. If the people were more culturally abundant there would have been no wars in our world at all as everyone would appreciate the culture of the other nations. By understanding the culture people usually come to understanding what is called mentality. Every nation has got its own mentality and sometimes the differences in the mentalities lead to misunderstanding and, therefore, to wars. Investing much money not in the military but in the arts will help to overcome these differences. For example, there are lot of cultural gallaries and exhibitions that everyone in the world would like to see like Louvre in Paris, State Hermitage Museum in Saint-Petersburg, Art Gallary in Dresden etc. Promoting such places will be beneficial for all humankind as they are not only heritage of the one particular nation, but heritage of the humanity.

Secondly, despite arguing in favor of investing more in the military, it is important to say that sometimes there is a necessity to spend more money in the military. For instance, this is very essential during a war. It would have been quite insensible to invest much money in the arts by the United Kingdom and France or Soviet Union during the World War Two hence it was much more vital to survive and win the war than to have some cultural activities. Even though, there is evidence that the culture and the arts helped people durind war times to fight. For instance, during the blocade of Leningrad when there was almost nothing to eat many members of Mariinsky Theatre gathered to play a simphony that was an indicator of dominance of the arts over the physiological needs. Or the other example is filming patriotic movies in the United States to encourage people to fight against Nazis.

To conclude, there is strong evidence implying adopting the recommendation of the author as the arts and the culture are those thing that push our society to develop and improve and investing money in it will result in the better future.