Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Financing only predictable research is seeminly reasonably. As governments which have other conflicting priorities, they should consider returns of investments. However, I have a doubt that the result of scientific research can be predicted. Moreover, given that a research result can have various effects on related areas, I believe that governments have to fund adventurous research topics.

If some scienfitic research is “clear”, like speaker’s statement, what would be the meaning of the “clear”? It would mean that research results are predicted. However, in science area, the predictable research means that every scientist can think about the research and outcomes, and even easily copy the result. This is, the predictable research might be so easy that the result cannot make any significant beneficial impacts on a nation as well as a science society. Therefore, funding those research is just effortless.

I believe the unpredictability is a nature of science itself. Any meaningful scientific research have to risk the failure of the idea. Nevertheness, this unpredictability is the main cause of a splendid success in the science field. Many might be aware of the stories that most of historical researh started from vague grounds with unexpected assumptions. Hence, governments which are eagar to promote scientific achievements have to consider somewhat unclear but potential research.

Additionaly, the nature of science, unpredictability of results, should be reconsiderd in terms of their additional effects on related fields. If governments think about only the myoptical results, none of them invests on space research which is apparently the story for future. Although space research itself seems to be only for science itself, the many outcomes are relevent to security of nations. For example, the research achievement of space probes are now used for developing long-ranged missile.

To sum up, I believe governments should fund somewhat unclear research. Only if a government were to want to create trivial results would it finance research which can generate clear, but meaningless, consequences.