Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

With the advancing technology and increase in number of avid researchers eager to prove the impossible, the number of ongoing researches have gone up drastically over past few decades. It is not practical for government to fund all the ongoing researches. It needs to make a well calculated decision to choose among the researches it should fund. Therefore, clearly funding any scientific research whose consequences are unclear should be at very low priority. I agree with the given recommendation.

We can take example of machine learning which is the hot topic now with everyone trying to do something new with it. With a limited budget, funding all these researches are not possible. There should be some measure or a reliability of a working prototype that the researchers should present in order to make a place in government fund. If government funds one of the researches that has a very strong theory, but no proof of practical validity and later in future that research doesn’t produce the result it claimed in the beginning, it would be a total waste of government money.

With limited budget, funding a research with unclear consequences would lead to some legit researches miss their chance in getting fund. The later research might have more chances of succeeding but has lesser implications than the first.

Although, it might be true that few researches have employed techniques that has never been done or thought of before and thus they don’t have any working prototype to show the potential of their idea to succeed. But, there is a reason why invention is called an invention, because it is never being done or thought of before. Thus, not funding some potential inventions could become major loss for the government.

Thus, government should take a calculated, well thought and well discussed decision to make sure the right deserver gets the funding.