Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is argued that governments are ought to provide free college and university education to all students. In my opinion, I partially disagree with this argument because it will cause a financial burden to the government and students studying in colleges with free tuition are more likely to waste the resource of education; however, some poor students should not be ignored and the government have to help them with free college education.

The main reason why I oppose that government should not offer free college education to all students is that there will be a huge financial difficulties for the government. Since the bugdet of the nation is limited, governments need to distribute their bugdet more wisely and equally. If university education becomes free, the expense on other important issues such as medical, construction, and employment is forced to be decreased. If the government want to avoid expense on other aspects being cut, it have to borrow more money for expenditure of free education, which may result in backrupt of the country.

Another reason not supporting the free university education for all students is due to the fact that students will not cherish the education resource of colleges. Almost every student will choose to study in the colleges after graduating from high school due to the free tuition. However, many college students are likely to skip classes because in their opinions they will not face with any loss with free charge of credits even though they fail to pass these classes. Therefore, the average academic performance of college students is affected to be worse and worse under this circumstance.

However, some students can not be access to university education because of expensive tuition fee even though they have outstanding academic performance and want to pursue the bachelor or even master degrees of universities. In this situation, governments should give them oppportunites to be educated free of charge. Specifically, if students want to receive qualification of free college education, they have to apply with proof of their transcript and annaul household income. Under strict examination of the government, only those with great academic achievements and low family income will be offered with college education free of charge. In this case, government can help these excellent students with lower financial burden.

In conclusion, I reiterate my disagreement with free college and university education to all students since it will result in huge financial burden on budget of governments and students are more likely to waste the education resource. However, some poor students with splendid academic performance should be assisted with free college education.