Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Education plays a crucial role in shaping one’s future and presenting oneself to the real world. The policy made in the given argument states that free University education should be offered to any student admitted to a University who cannot afford the tuition fee, by the Government. I partially agree with this policy, however, even after allowing free education, it is student’s responsibility how well he or she understands its importance.

Assuming that the University grants free education to the student, how can one assure that the student would make utmost use of the resources made available to him? For instance, if a student is admitted to the University with free education, then he might just take the free resources for granted, say, he doesn’t necessarily study from the study materials provided to him, or doesn’t attend the lab regularly, as he knows he won’t be wasting any money since he has to pay nothing. This may show the fecklessness of the student towards offering the education free of cost. It is however necessary that the University Professor or Counsellor consider the background of the students, their financial condition, and their past records of academics before the consensus.

Apart from this, there are some enthusiasts who have keen interest in their fields and find opportunities to explore and study the world of their interests, may it be from the field of arts, humanities, history, or research or development, but they couldn’t afford due to their financial condition. Such students who have greater potential of excelling in their fields must be given free education, as it will give them a platform to explore the field and enhance their career. For example, if the coding geek who cannot afford to study at the University level, is granted free education, he will grab this opportunity and can therefore develop some new websites, games, applications related to business or healthcare which might help the society and the citizens, solving real world problems, etc. He would not only excel in his career but will also give the University a higher regard.

In crux, keeping both the scenarios in mind, the Government should grant free education to the students by perfectly evaluating their financial background, and who possess skills required for the academics and real-world, and who have keen interest in their field, who aspire to make a better change in future through their study and skills. Someone who cannot afford millions and doesn’t utilize the opportunity will however undermine the importance of education.