Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition

Education, a fundamental right of every child, is a distant dream for the less fortunate. They struggle with the travails of life in their impoverished households trying to make ends meet.

Parents raising their children in such a hapless situation can hardly imagine them to earn their livelihoods from something other than the menial jobs they have been doing throughout their lives. However, sometimes the determination and dedication of some bright minds who dare to be different, who challenge the conventions, who fight against all odds overpowers everything else. These students who in spite of not being blessed with those opportunities which every student must have, still manage to secure a position in esteemed universities. But alas, their impecunious parents cannot defray their education.

Government has a very significant role to play in such a situation, to do a task more noble than reservation. It is only prudent for the government to fund the education of those students whose parents cannot afford their tuition fee so that they’d not be denied of a future they can have and rightly deserve. Who knows the government might get their next senator from this pool. This opinion can be further bolstered by an incident in India, where 2 students from a poverty ridden family, got admission in Indian Institute of Tech. better known as the IIT, and their parents could not afford a sum of 1 lac rupees to put them into college. That’s when some charitable individuals came forward, along with some govt. officials to take up this task and assured them that their education will be free for the next four years. These students now might become administrators, physicists or chemists which would have otherwise not been possible if they didn't have the govt doing something for them.

The funding is very much tractable since only a few percentage of students of such backgrounds might be able to get into universities. Some might say that there can be paucity of resources. This is entirely dependent on the economic climate of the country but mostly it should be plausible enough to render this argument invalid. The govt should itself take an initiative in this direction. It also might galvanize a young mind rusting away at a construction site to light up his/her life by getting into a coveted university. This is saving a life. This is moving from a benighted life towards enlightenment.