Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

The choice between the two is not a trivial one. One has to spend hours thinking about this and once the decision has been made immediately begin to second guess it. The prompt recommends government to put few restriction on scientific research and development department. I mostly disagree with this suggestion and believe that science destroys boundaries for couple of reasons.

To begin, scientific research is always volatile, one of the few experiments going wrong cannot justify putting restrictions and hinder the entire scientific community. Thus, putting restrictions will hamper the scientific research and development. For instance, over the last couple of years we have witnessed surge of covid and its variants. If there would have been restrictions on scientific research and community then there would have been a slim hope of getting a vaccine. Since, there were not any kind of restriction, we got the vaccine with great speed and hence most of the world has been recovered. Just imagine ,If we would have received vaccines yet, where would be the world at the moment! The above example illustrates why government should not interfere with scientific research and development. But, leaving them loose entirely may affect humanity, only future will tell us so.

Further, scientific research and development is absolute necessary without involvement of government institutes as it may cause inconvenience for the research institute as it is habit of government to micro-manage things. For instance, one can compare the two institutes of space, nasa and spaceX , former one being government and latter being a private institution. The spacex is already in motion of sending people to mars and then over there building a civilization , meanwhile nasa is nowhere near it . Hence, government should not much interfere for scientific research and development.

Ofcourse some argue that, too much of independency left for scientific community may later harm as they may turn it into business deals which may affect the common people. However, this is not precise as turning scientific research and development into business as it may harm them and they may lose their good name in this process. That’s why government should not interfere with the scientific research and development.