Governments should place few, if any , restrictions on scientific research and development.

The growth of an economy and betterment of lives of people are based on current and previous research and developments. On the other hand current threats the world face are also because of the scientific developments so to say governments should place few, if any, restrictions on them is understandable

The lot of inventions which we enjoy and which make our work and lives easier are developed as a result of scientific research and development but at the same time we can also see many inventions like Nuclear Bombs which is a threat to the whole humanity' s existence is also as a result of science. It is very well seen after the attack on Hiroshima and Nagasaki. So scientific research as a whole not only enhances our way of living but also threatens it.

Let us consider the medical industry, we all now that Stem cells can be used in healing any ailments but these cells are found mainly in pregnant ladies so there are cases where pregnant ladies are aborted purposefully to get their stem cells and use it for research or for healing patients. So restriction in research in these areas are mandatory.

Without restrictions in research areas there are a lot of possibilities where people could invent or develop things which can cause destruction and bring harm to this world rather than the good. For example Scientists have theoretically proven that Neanderthals can be brought back after building the genome pattern from the skeletons of the species. But the implications it may cause once we bring them back are not known who knows they might also turn against humans. So restrictions in these cases are a mandatory one. We also understand that research in curing diseases, energy production from natural resources all needs to be encouraged but it should also be made sure that such researches won't affect current balance in our ecosystem.

Thus, implications of scientific research needs to be analyzed completely by a regulatory body and accordingly the restrictions needs to be applied considering primarily their implications rather than the new things it will bring into the lives of people.