Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific research and development is a key component for the progress of mankind. It enables humans to answer the unanswered mysteries of nature, and quench their curiosity. It also actuates the growth of humans as intellectual beings. Without it, economies would stop growing and the cultivation of ideas and their applications and the proliferation of the world would become thwarted. Having said that, it might seem that all is well when it comes to scientific research and development. However, not every aspect of scientific research and development might be beneficial or desirable. Therefore, governments, should definitely have a say in the research and development that goes on within a country but only to the extent that seems necessary after a carefully considered tradeoff.

Scientific research and development encompasses a wide range of topics from physics, chemistry, biology, which form the basics of science as we perceive today, to much advanced areas like astrophysics, nuclear energy, and radioactivity. Not every field that constitutes scientific research should be freely pursued. For instance, we are very well aware that the Nuclear Arms Treaty enforces certain restrictions on the nuclear development and research that can be carried out in a particular nation. This is very important, especially because of the fact that developing arms, specifically nuclear arms, is a field of science that propagates violence, and advances in such fields can cause massive destruction and obliteration to various nations. If you look at the infamous atomic bombs dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki, you can clearly conclude that there should be certain restrictions placed on certain areas of research which can cause destruction rather than benefit. It is also necessary to point out here, that if such advanced technology falls in the wrong hands, it can cause mass panic, even if nothing destructive takes place.

But, placing too many restrictions can be rather disadvantageous. Too many restrictions would make scientists lethargic to explore the mysterious areas of science that are less understood by mankind, as they would then have to go through a lot of official procedures to get permits and start research. Too many restrictions can also drive away the funding that goes into scientific research and development. Although, most importantly this could lead to reduced creativity in forming challenging hypothesis that would help scientists journey into the unknown. For example, if the government had many restrictions on carrying out research, you never know, which piece of technology would have never been developed. It could actually lead to the non-development of many useful technologies, which would then again have a negative impact on the growth of mankind. Imagine the telephone not being invented because Graham Bell was not permitted to carry out his development.

Therefore, it is absolutely necessary to carry out careful deliberations and reach a point of tradeoff. This tradeoff would essentially classify subjects which can do more harm than good as the ones on which restrictions need to be placed. This is important because a lot of scientists carry out individual research, and they would generally need to be prohibited to carry out research in those fields, because of a variety of reasons, including, but not limited to, the research being used in the wrong way, or it falling into the wrong hands.

The recommendation pointed out in the issue, therefore, although necessary should be adopted only in certain scenarios after thoughtful consideration. As crucial as it may sound, scientific research has actually caused great amounts of mass destruction, for which I would like to form the opinion that governments should take into account all possible considerations before placing any restrictions, and should have a close eye on topics that can endanger the human race.