Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Children are an important part of the society, because they grow up to become the future of any society. In other words, they shape what a society becomes, and how it improves or degrades over time. It then becomes necessary for their forerunners, to dedicate efforts to the holistic development of children, to incite and propagate a progressing society. Of these children, some are born with immanent qualities that help them achieve precocious feats. These children, generally regarded as prodigies, can play a more important role in how they shape the future of any society. Thus, the society should dedicate more efforts in developing these inherent qualities within prodigies to fulfil its goal of a prosperous future.

With the rise of the entertainment industry in the past few decades, we have seen many TV shows that display prodigies who have mastered a variety of different skills. Some can play the piano almost like Beethoven, and some can perform calculations faster than a calculator, amongst many others. The diversity of inherent talents is evident and if these diverse talents can be honed properly, it leads to the establishment of diverse societies, that can achieve prosperity in many different directions. This, in turn, leads to the reduction of stereotypes in societies, removing stagnation and inspiring other children, and adults alike, to pursue various kinds of interests. For example, for almost a decade or two it has been a culture in the Bengali households that value academia, to encourage their children to pursue either engineering or medicine, even if their children are born with other talents. This has led to two degrading consequences, first, the overcrowding of doctors and engineers in the Bengali culture, leading to a sense of negative and futile competition, and second, the suppression of these inborn talents, which could have been honed by the children to form a less hackneyed Bengali culture.

In addition to the formation of diverse societies, prodigies help societies in yet another way. They help societies achieve greater feats, and grow them economically on all fronts. For example, imagine the kind of mastery a musical prodigy aged seven can gain, after years of formal training. Since, prodigies are so young, they have a lot of time at hand to master their talents and skills and become better than the existing set of pioneers and experts in any society. This doesn’t just lead to better experts but also consequently leads to better economies, as the feats of such prodigies can open doors to newer avenues for any society. A good example of this would be thinking about how the Bengali culture could have grown better had it let its prodigies hone their skills related to mathematics, music, english, computers, etc. The society that has thrived on the achievements of doctors and engineers, would have had been able to thrive not just on the achievements of these stereotyped academicians, but also on the achievements of the music maestros, and maths geniuses.

In contrast, some might be of the opinion that providing special attention to prodigies can have a negative impact on the other children of the society who are less talented. This might seem true, from a perspective but we often tend to forget, that inculcating a competitive spirit amongst children, can help them outdo their potentials, and become better minds of the society. It has to be kept in mind, that special training programmes inclined towards prodigies, should not try and imbue a sense of discrimination or superiority. Also, these trainings should not just be limited towards the special children, but should cater to any child who wants to pursue such a training and development programme.

In light of all these reasons, it should be strongly recommended to societies to identify their prodigies, laud them, and train them to become better, but that should not be done at the cost of any discrimnation or loss of opportunities for the other kids of the society.