GRE Issue:Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Reason: Great achievements by a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure a good life for the majority of that nation's people

In this world, the countries are recognized as ‘great nations’ mostly because of it’s all round progress in each and every factors of the society that supplements it’s denizens’ welfare. There is no single significant example where the rulers or artists of the nations that wittingly increased this factor of ‘greatness’ of the country but is true inversely. Thus, I strongly agree that greatness of the country cannot be attributed to the achievements of it’s rulers, artists or scientists.

The country is made up by the people. If there is no internal peace among the people, then the chaotic conditions do not let any of the individuals to achieve significantly. For example, the country of Pakistan which is known to have the great singers (artists), cricket players as well as the Nobel peace prize winners like Malala, is identified as the ‘terrorist shelter-giver’ world wide. Even the very infamous Osama bin laden was killed in Abotabad of Pakistan which made the country’s name get plummeted amongst the peace keeping countries. There are terrorists activities in a regukar manner in the country which do not let the people to be in the harmonious manner. The people hardly could get esconced in such country which is unambiguously called as not so great nation despite of great achievements of it’s leaders as well as the artists.

Hence, the fame of the country is directly dependent on the welfare of people.

Even though there are artists as well as good leaders in the country like Pakistan as mentioned previously, the country might not be called as the great nation. For example, Soviet Union which was known as one of the greatest influencing country in the world in each and every factors after world war 2, the iniquitous act of Chernobyl by it’s very own great achieved Scientists lead them to exclude the land of more than 2 thousand square kilometers. This was to avoid the Radiations from the Chernobyl nuclear reactor which was plummeted by the activities of the Nuclear scientists. Thus, from this substantiation we can know that ‘great names’ may not make the nation great but can absolutely make the country’s name get infamous.

Even if the country donot have the great leaders, it might get known to be great. The country which has the minimum army to protect. Which is in the apogee of the developments as well as the country which is known to be one of the most lovable countries to reside in- Iceland. The country of Iceland which is known to be one of the safest lands on earth because it’s rulers earn name to maintain the welfare of it’s country internally more than externally. This exemplifies analogically and supports the given prompt.

In a nutshell, according to me, the achievements of the particular person who has his country’s name besides his name might make his country proud but do not make the country great. There are various factors that has to be considered to set the countries in the list of great countries. Where in the welfare of the people is the major aspect that comes first.