The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

The greatness of an individual cannot be decided by the ones who live after them or nor by their contemporaries. The greatness is a very big word and should be used carefully, and life is too big to be evaluated by a single measure on a scale or a word like great, common or wicked. The one who lived the life can only decide that thoroughly.

In my view "greatness is a delusion of choices", we are what we do. If this is true then life can be justified on the measure of greatness on the scale of decisive power. The greatness itself is the volatile topic, many people might consider Adolf Hitler as a hero, while other fraction might consider him a maniac. Whether it be contemporaries or the future generation, there were and there will be opposite views for the historical decisions.

Furthermore, the ones who came after a figure of discussion have no idea about the situations on which the decision had made, which gave the person flowers of worship or blood or hatred. In addition to that, the future generation will know only what is articulated, which may be not with the verisimilitude of the situation, as the writers are not fully unbiased. It will be like near to fictional book, which can have multiple meanings based on reader's bias, so in summation, it will create ambiguity and ruin our judgment of accepting something as great justifiably.

On the other side, the views of contemporaries who lived with the figure might be near the truth, but the emotional coherence might not be there to evaluate the greatness. I didn't give my close friend a hint in the examination, and he failed, from that day he blames me for that. I did that in good faith that I will not always be there, but still my image in his view is not good. Without attaching with someone emotionally judging them will not give the truth. In all the contemporaries some are friends and others are rivals, sometimes rival become friends and sometimes friend become opponents, so it is a delusion to judge something as great because it might become wicked someday.

In Summary, one's life is full of complexities to summarize it with a single word or even a book. Life is a delusion of choices, and there is nothing as to right and wrong as far as it is justifiable. Galileo was termed evil by the people of that time and Adolf Hitler as the god, but the future termed out to be exactly opposite and the view might change in future, as nothing is apparent and change is the only constant. To justify the greatness comes from inside not from other people whether it be the ones who lived by your side or will live after you. There will always be criticism and favoritism but if one can justify his own self then there is no way somebody can take greatness from him.