So long as they are aware of the dangers involved, adults should not be legally bound to use seat belts.

Driving safety is a burning issue today, and it will get more prominence in future as the number of vehicles are constantly increasing with exponential rate. There is no other known mechanism whoch provide safety and adoptability as seat belts do, but still some individuals prefer their freedom and neglect the legal driving obligations. Even if they are aware to the dangers involved during driving. In my opinion any individual whether it be adult, children or elder, all should be legally bound to use seat belts. It does not just ensure safety of yourself, but also create a desciplin and orderliness in society.

The first reason that opposes the author's claim is, the world is full of uncertainities, and accidents can happen anytime, regardless of one's awareness of the dangers involved during driving. The awareness does not provide gaurentee to safety. There are many superficial and uncontrollable situations that can affect the driver and cause catastrophe. For instance, if driver saw a vehicle coming from the opposite direction, just followed by a 'U' shape turn, can cause put in distress, and cause a trouble. It can be a sudden rain-fall which makes the visuals hazy or may be an unexpected natuaral disaster like earthquake. No one can stay aware to the situations beyond their control and that is where seat-belt ensures the safety.

Aother reason, if something is not legally bounded, then it might cause people to take advantage of it. There is no way to know that an individual is aware of the dangers or not, so there no way to ensure that the people who are not bounded by the law to use seat-belts, are legally aware of dangers. If it already hard to ensure safety, even when there are strict obligations to use seat belts, how safe the roads will be without it.

Moreover, some poeple intentionally do not use seat belts, and later reasoned that, it is time consuming, or not comfertable. For instance, may be it is time consuming and not comfertable, but it can save an individual from a hell lot of time in hospitals and the discomfort caused by that visit. In addition, there will be saving of money. The seat belt act as an insurance policy, it is hard to keep up with obligations of it, but it can give huge benefits to individual and his family in the situation of disaster. The only difference is seat belt requires efforts to pay not the money.

In summation, the seat belt is not just to ensure the safety of an individual but the world around him as well, and if everyone understand this, there will be very less life threteaning cases. The seat belts are not measurement of driving awareness but the measure of safety, so reagrdless of one's understanding for awareness, the use of seat belt should be ligally obligated.