The growth of technology is helping us shape our world better.

In hardly two decades, technology blossomed from just a bud to a full grown flower. The growth was so rapid that for many it happened in just a blink of an eye while for others it changed overnight. Many have embraced it with open arms, not leaving a chance to explore the cave, that is technology. Some are seen revolting against the idea that things are getting done by machines, other than us. No matter the validity of the points, there is no denying that our world is changing, towards a more advanced stage.

The inundation of technology is overwhelming. There is hardly any procedure left that does not require the use of technical resources, be it medical or educational or for any general work. For instance, computers hold our complete information now, whether it is for hospital records, or for census or for government purposes. On one hand we vehemently cry for our right to privacy, and on the other we acquiescingly give our details to anyone who can provide us with virtual delight.

The same information that we readily give can be the reason of the entire humanity’s downfall. Our sacred details, which should only be known to us is in the hands of people we don’t know. Their potential is unknown to us. If we look back in history, the embryonic stage of genocide of Jews started by first collecting all their information, from their occupation, to residence and marital status. This made it easy for the totalitarian to separate Jews from Germans and persecute them. This anti-Semitic movement led to the death of millions of Jews and loss of property which was considered one of the biggest massacres in the history of violence. The saying that ‘History repeats itself’ should invoke trepidation in our hearts but that isn’t happening.

Our ignorant minds won’t consider the ill effects of the rapidly growing technology because we are busy savouring the sweet ease it provides to our day to day lives. Even though the benefits are high, we shouldn’t turn our backs to the problems we can someday face in the future. Our naivety can be the cause of our downfall and we should be ready to take the bad with the good.