The Human Mind Will Always Be Superior To Machines Because Machines Are Only Tools Of Human Minds.

The machines are inferior to the human mind, but to suppose this will always be the case is too extreme and hence I partially agree to the issue.

One thing to consider before discussing the issue is the vague terminology of superiority. Superiority could be judged on various parameters like productivity, efficiency, decision making, creative thinking and thus, is a subjective notion.

If superiority is judged on the basis of creative thinking and coming with possible solutions to various challenges then certainly there is no match for the efficacy of the human mind. Machines have been developed as a tool to reduce human efforts and solve trivial problems. These machines don’t possess the effective thinking capability and decision making as possessed by the human brain. Take the example of the Autopilot mode in the airplanes. This mode when enabled can carry on the trajectory set on by the pilots without any obstruction. This enables pilots to take much needed breaks in between. However, the autopilot mode is not equipped in making decision and unlocking the creative prowess, as the brains of human, when facing a critical situation during accidents etc. We are still dependent on the pilots to overcome these challenges. Hence, the human mind is definitely superior to the machines in decision making and creative processes.

On the other hand, If superiority is judged according to the productivity and efficiency of the work, then the notion that human mind will always prevail will be fallacious. Consider the example of the domination of machines in the production processes in various industries. Machines have supplanted the use of human labour because they are able to produce work in sheer volumes which couldn’t have been possible with human labour. Also, these machines are infalliable and impeccable in the task assigned to them which is not matched by their human counterparts. Hence, the human mind regardless of its many gifts can’t achieve these standards of machines.

Regardless of the superiority of human brains in critical decision making and creative thought process, to say that the machines will never be able to match our superiority is too extreme. The fields of artificial intelligence and machine learning are advancing at a very rapid pace and can possibly in future attribute the properties like decision making and creative thinking in these machines.

To conclude, there is no question of the superiority of human mind over machines in relation to critical thinking and creative processes. But to suggest that this will always remain the case is somewhat prognostic as recent advances in technology are promising to develop a machine which can function similarly to the human brain in future.