There is hardly any doubt against the role of prison system. But does the unpleasantness of imprisonment really help to deter offenders to commit violent crime? Additionally, does every violent crime have notorious reason behind? This very questions quell me to agree with the assertion thoroughly. Below I will defend my standpoint with effective argument.

First of all, all offenders should be punished for their wrong doings, and some of those wrong doings are much more violent than any others. Those, who commit that extreme violent crime should be punished severely in order to deter them from any further violent crime. But that severe punishment can’t perform it’s role to deter offenders from violent crime all the time. Admittedly, severe punishment is active from the very beginning of law enforcement, yet crimes haven’t declined at the level that have to, and that’s so because of the perception of offenders and variation of crimes. Violent crimes are conspicuously those that are relatively gruesome, and effect most in the society: killing, raping, drugs trafficking and the likes. Those who commit this sort of crimes are very motivated to do so. Think about drug trafficking, a very notorious act, is done for money, and those offenders related to this crime have venality for money. Hence, imprisonment effects little to prevent themselves from committing that same crime again.

Every crime doesn’t possess the same reason to break out. Some commit violent crime from a stand that makes them commit that sort of crime. Consider, a short tempered person who can’t control his anger, can kill a person who has raped that person’s sister or wife. Killing a person is undoubtedly an abhorrent act, but that person who has just killed a guy for raping his relatives, needs imprisonment that would help him to reform and manage his anger rather than unpleasant environment.

Another fact has to be considered at the time of imposing unpleasant environment on an offender, and that is his true participation in a violent crime. Innocence often gets punishment in many judiciary system where there is a lack of transparency, accountability. An innocent, who becomes victim of falsification, becomes crestfallen. He, where has to have the right to get free from the accusation, can’t be put into a situation where unwarranted unpleasant imprisonment is imposed on him. This very act will make him resentful to the law, leaving him prone to commit violent act when he emancipates from the prison.

In conclusion, imprisonment is a system, that helps an offender to reform himself, and deter himself from committing any kind of violent crime further. Whereas, the severe imprisonment can undoubtedly act negatively.