The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the era of post-industrial, people’s pace of lives has been accelerated nonstop. Such a modern lifestyle is cherished by some people while is detested by others. The given statement obviously support the latter viewpoint, accusing the fast pace of life is creating more challenges to people than it solves. I tend to agree with such a statement due to the two following reasons.

Firstly, solely the fast pace of life solves much less social problems for humans than people normally assume. Problems that inflicted humans for centries, like epidemics, poverty, hunger, hygiene issues, are mostly mitigated by the power of technology advancement, rather than a faster pace of life. For instance, an industrious farmer’s output is very likely to be lower than a work-life balanced teacher’s output. In this case, working from 5 am to 10 pm nonstop could hardly save one from poverty. But knowledge and technology can. Therefore, it is not rational to attribute the disappearance of certain social problems to a faster pace of life. In fact, the benefit of fast pace lifestyle is very limited.

Secondly, a pushy and pressing lifestyle creates tons of problems for us both psychologically and physically. In terms of mental health, research has consistently shown that too much stress harms people’s productivity and may cause serious mental illnesses. The increasing stress of missing deadlines and the rocketing fear of being inferior to others lead people to depression and anxiety. No wonder suicide cases are becoming more and more common these days. In terms of physical health, a tight working schedule often leaves people with limited time to do physical exercises, which in turn brings threats to people’s health. Research has shown that the average time for outdoor exercises in the U.S. plummeted as people are increasingly occupied with more workload. Such a result verifies the idea that a faster pace of life harms people’s physical health.

Of course, there are both pros and cons of a rapid pace of life. But with the above analysis, I believe that the negative impacts outweigh the benefits it brings along.