Issue Essay:-Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

It is believed that most of the discoveries are made through painstaking efforts and years of working behind the closed doors of laboratories. While it is true that inventions need arduous efforts and perseverance, but we can not deny the fact that many of the inventions we enjoy today are a result of serendipity. I completely agree with the authors stance and there are copious of examples in retrospect to support this claim.

First of all, we should acknowledge the fact that despite of hard work and wisdom, fortune also play a key role sometimes. Having said that, it does not mean that only good fortune is responsible for the seminal innovation, but a combined effect of, wisdom, perseverance and fortune, produce the desired results. Consider, for example, the discovery of X-rays. In 1979, a German scientist named Wilhelm was conducting some experiment with the cathode tube. Suddenly he realized that despite the fact that tube was covered, he saw nearby fluorescent screen would glow when the tube was on and the room was dark. The rays were somehow illuminating the screen. He tried to block the rays but most things he placed in front of them did not seem to make the difference. When he placed his hand in front of tube, he noticed he could see his bones in the image that was projected on the screen. He then replaced the tube with photographic plate to capture the images and thereby creating the first X-rays.

In addition to that, many of the discoveries took several decades for the applications of the accidental theories. It should also be noticed that to take the research forward scientists from the later generations toiled for years to further the accidental findings and those scientists must also be praised for their efforts. For instance, the discovery of the Insulin is example of such event. Two scientists were studying the role pancreas play in the digestion of the food. In an experiment on a dog, they removed his pancreas to study its effects on digestion. Suddenly, few days later they observed that files were swarming around the urine of the dog- something abnormal and unexpected. They tested the urine and found sugar in urine. They then realized that by removing his pancreas they have given diabetes to dog. Though they never figured out which secretion from pancreas caused to control bold sugar but that provided ground for future generation to further research. Four decade later the scientists from the university of Toronto found blood sugar controlling agent and named it Insulin.

In conclusion, history itself is testimony to the claim of the author. Perhaps my personal view is that along with fortune other elements also devote, to some degree, for discovery of ground breaking innovations.