ISSUE

Topic-It is often necessary even desirable for the political leaders to withhold some information from the public.

Many a times, it not only becomes crucial but also indispensable for the ruling government to refrain themselves from revealing certain piece of data to the citizens of the country keeping in mind the sensitivity of the issue as well as consequences of sharing it. On the other hand, government officials should not conceal another category of data from the denizens which is beneficial for them. I agree with the speaker’s viewpoint to a great extent and my reasons for the same are discussed further in the ensuing paragraphs.

The primary reason why I agree with the speaker’s opinion is the confidentiality of certain piece of data. For instance, Defence is the most important sector for any nation as it deals with the security of the people of the country. If any of the strategies made by the defence department are disclosed in open, then it can lead to misuse of such information in case it falls in wrong hands. Another example is that of Income Tax Raids. If such raids are declared in advance, then the suspected tax avoiders may escape the punishment which will be unfair for the people who sincerely pay their taxes.

My secondary reason to support the speaker in his stand is taking into account the consequences of sharing a specific group of data. The best example which I can think of is the cross-border tensions such as fake terrorist threat calls or enmity among the neighbouring nations. If such kind of data is shared with the civilians than it can lead to fear as well as chaos all over the country. The second case is that of topics which are related to various caste and religion. This class of data should be dealt with utmost care so that it may not hurt anyone’s sentiments and also prevent communal riots across the nation. The triple talaq bill/Ayodhya Ram Mandir case is an apt example of how the Indian government deals with such topics.

On the contrary, it is also essential to share certain information with the public which could be advantageous for them. One such example is of the government schemes and subsidies which must be announced publicly so that the civilians can take the maximum benefit from them. Such policies comprise of Pradhan Mantri Jan Dhan Yojna (PMJDY), Pradhan Mantri Rojgar Yojna (PMRY), LPG subsidies, Pradhan Mantri Krushi Vikas Yojna (PMKVY) to name a few. Another vital piece of data which must be shared with the people is about the law and order. In order to follow the rules and regulations strictly, it is required that the citizens have complete knowledge about the same.

Thus, to conclude the discussion I would like to say that it is necessary to take extreme care about sensitivity of the data and related consequences of sharing that information with the people. Also, a careful thought must be taken into consideration about the benefits and drawbacks of any data before it is announced in front of general public.