It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

The given prompt states that it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or wamn as a hero. On one hand, usually a team has to be given credit for any kind of successful attack or defence whereas on the other hand, one person can play a majority of the role in occluding an attack. He might give commands to the cavalry and preclude the attack. This is thus, a contentious issue and needs scrupulous analysis to arrive at any conclusion. However, I strongly agree that it is not possible for a society to regard a single man or woman as a hero.

To begin with, the major role played in preventing a major attack or protecting the civilians is done by a whole squad. In today's world with all the advance arms and amunition, it is physically impossible for a single person to protect everyone. In fact the number of soldiers in armies are usually in lacks or at least in thousands. For instance, few years back Indian army imposed a surgical strike in POK (Pakistan occupied Kashmir) which is the major place to harbor terrorists. However, one must pay attention that this was not a task achieved by one person, it was achieved by a group of trained soldiers. Thus, to attribute one person as a hero in the success of surgical strike would be both unfair and demotivating for others in the group.

Furthermore, if we are adamant to provide someone with the designation of a hero that saved the country, it would be very difficult to decide who the real hero is. For instance, a soldier is badly wounded in a war, but is treated with the best specialists and surgeons in the country. As a result, his life is saved. Who then is the true hero? The soldier who almost sacrified his life to protect the nation of the surgeons who, even in the environment filled with sounds of gunfire, saved the soldiers life? Thus, the it becomes very abstruse to choose someone as a title for hero. In fact, to avoid this, many nations have different medals and certificate that they give to honour the commendable work done by them.

However, one may argue that the person who is incharge of the whole coup must be credited and given the title of "hero" because he(or she) is the one who actually assisted the soldiers resulting in the victory. He also risked his life in order to protect the nation. Indeed, this topic is not limited to soldiers; It can be observed in day to day life also. Consider the case of Neerja Bhangot who saved sacrified her life to save myriad people from a plane that had been hijacked. She was a true hero as without much assistance besides a few crew members, she was able to rescue all the passangers safely. Hence, there are some cases were people are real heros. But, to directly state that the peson incharge of the coup was the one who should be attributed is flawed as he had help from many different sources which together could accomplish a mission.

From the points stated above, it is clear that even though there are certain cases where a person comes out to be a true hero, majority of the cases require a group of people to coordinate with each other for a successful completion of an event. Hence, it is clear that in majority of the cases, it is no longer possiblet to regard a man or a woman as hero.