Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is hard to rebut that a profound knowledge in history may be a great guideline when making substantial decisions. Especially in economic situations, we can learn from our past mistakes and try not to repeat those pitfalls once more. In addition, when we base our decisions on past examples, it is likely that the situation will follow the path of the past. Nevertheless, the past and the present cannot be totally parallel and there will always be other influences that changes the situation.

First of all, if a corporation or government overlooks history and makes decisions, there is a risk where the group will make a mistake that was made in the past. On the other hand, if the company tries to refer to the past, it will be able to deviate from past blunders. For instance, China is regulating their economic growth because they are aware that America has experienced the great depression after allowing their economy to expand freely. Hence, it is evident that taking the history into account when making financial decisions may provide a guideline to making a better choice.

Next, the advantages of making economic decisions based on the past is that the tendency of the economy is repetitive. For instance, an inflation is usually followed by a significant economic growth because of the excess money in the market. Consequently, by considering the past changes of the economic situations, governments or companies will be able to predict the future more precisely and will be able to make safer or more profitable decisions.

Although, it is clear that basing your economic decisions on history is a strong strategy, it may not always work since the economic situations are influenced by numerous factors that we cannot take account. In economics not every situation is the same, and there will be always divergence from the past proclivities. For instance, even if the Apple stocks skyrocketed in the past after the launch of the IPhones, there is no reason it will go up in the contemporary market. There is a chance that Apple stocks will plummet because Samsung present's their own model of smartphones and customers prefer Samsung over Apple. Therefore, even if the past presents some hints about the future, it will not be always correct. Rather, there may be significant deviations because of the situations that we fail to consider.

In conclusion, when making financial decisions, it is important that you consider the past situations and try to predict the outcome of the current state. Nevertheless, you should also accept that your predictions may be wrong.