Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The present has arrived at its existence mainly due to the hurdles crossed by the intellectual brains in the past. Knowing about the past can greatly benefit people to take important decisions today.

Experience gained by individuals in a field is far more effective than book knowledge and it can only be attained after learning about the good or bad decisions in the past. Companies prefer hiring experienced people against the freshers recently graduated from college who studied many books. In fact, knowledge in the books are written after immense route of experiments and failed theories in the past. Without such information, humans today would not be as developed to treat complicated medical disorders or invent the internet, an impressive technology to connect people with a click of button communicating over satellites that are outside the earth.

While taking decisions in implementing laws for a country, it is always helpful to look at the history and find out if similar decisions were taken for the people and learn the impacts caused by it. Certainly, good impacts in the past for the similar law would most probably result in a healthy law implementation in the present for the country and benefit the citizens. One can argue that the times have changed and the response of people could be different from the past after implementation of a certain law. This argument does not hold true most of the time as can be observed in ‘equal rights law’ or ‘no discrimination law’ and much more. Humans have always wanted equal rights in jobs, services, etc. It can never go other way round that humans give up their rights.

From the past incidents happened to a person, the experience gained can greatly help in taking decisions if similar situations arise. History greatly gives hints though ambiguous to form a new law’s response from the people in a country. From above, we see that learning the past can be an added advantage while taking critical decisions in the present.