A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The educators of a country hold various responsibilities to ensure that students are provided with the best possible education. Deciding whether establishing a universal curriculum for all the schools until college in the nation is a good strategy or not is a topic of debate. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the prompt and argue that the same national curriculum should be imposed on all students until they enter college.

To begin, the students entering colleges will be given equal opportunities while giving entrance exams for colleges. Some national curriculums are more developed than others in a big nation, which leads to a difference in the knowledge attained by students who follow different curriculums. This results in an unfair advantage to the students who were enrolled in the more developed curriculum while taking entrance exams for college admissions. For instance, there are thousands of boards of education in India and the most renown is the CBSE curriculum. Students of this curriculum have a greater knowledge than other Indian curriculum because CBSE focuses heavily on the material tested in the engineering exams for colleges. Thus, more CBSE students are able to pass these exams as compared to students of other curriculum. Had all students in India followed the same national curriculum, the entrance exams would have been equally fair to everyone.

Further, when students enter college, there will be no knowledge gap amongst the students if the country follows the same national curriculum for all students. The instructors, in the beginning few weeks of colleges, are not able to identify this difference in the knowledge among students. Thus, the instructors teach all the students thinking that they are able to grasp explanations and no one requires special attention. This problem will be solved if the idea of same national curriculum until college is adopted for all students in a country.

In contrast, there could be a downside of implementing the same national curriculum for all students until college. People may argue that the students will not be having diverse opinions on a subject when they enter college. Of course, diversity of opinions is important mainly for team spirit. A team is more effective in achieving its tasks if the members hold opinions that are diverse. This unlocks many potentials in a student to gain competent skills that are beneficial for his or her career. Thus, there could be a few disadvantages of adopting an identical national curriculum for all students until they enter college.

In conclusion, the implementation of the same national curriculum until college for all students can be greatly beneficial for the educational system of a country. No student will have an unfair advantage while taking entrance tests for colleges and teachers will be able to better adapt their teaching styles if all students have the same knowledge when they enter college.