Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Beyond Doubt the statement : " Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places" is highly contentious in nature. Some people agree with it whole heartedly where as some cannot stand it at all. In my perspective the Laws , which are made to keep peace and order in the society, should be open to action according to the situations. As everything undergoes a prompt change to adjust, the Law should also serve as required. So, I am consonant with the statement in the prompt for the following three reasons.

Firstly, the laws are made to serve as a peace and order ensuring entity in a society thus they are required to change for the betterment of the same. For instance, in a country Nepal, there was always the rule of monarchy since it's unification, king was the sole person responsible for the country's rule and action. But when the people revolted for the democracy the king bound to change the monarchy system for the betterment of the country. King showed a flexibility in his rule thus saving country from destruction and civil war. Same goes for the country Bhutan where the former king is the prime minister of the country now as he has so smoothly handled the issues of the country.

Secondly, the constitution - the law book of a country has always the provision to amendment in case of any new issue encountered thereafter thus this provision of flexibility in constitution the importance of flexibility in law. For instance, In India and Nepal, earlier there was the law that the cases of rape are to be reported within three-month period from the date of crime otherwise the justice would not be served, but looking at the hesitant nature and inability of many victims to report the case in due time lead to the amendment of law and change the time period of reporting to three years and One year in India and Nepal respectively. But in the recent time there has been a case where the victim is seeking justice after eight long years, thus the law, which is bounded to one year,is to be subjected to change in order to serve justice to victim. Thus we can say that the situations and circumstances make it important to have a place to change in law otherwise it would not serve its purpose.

Some people argue that laws should be firm in nature and should not change in any circumstance but it is not possible in this dynamic society. For instance, a budget is formed in starting of a fiscal year but whwnever we encounter a natural calamity or pandemic the budget expenditure is spent accordingly as required.

Thus, it is in best interest of the society that laws sghould be flexoble enough to take account of situations.