Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The world of laws bolster the peace and order in the world and thus, having laws and more so ever having the brevity of discerning the impact the different laws can have on the society is necessary. Although issue of how flexible or harsh the laws should be considering various situations, time and location seeems to be a contentious one, I strongly believe they should be flexible enough for appropriate cases. Below are the points which bolster my position on the above issue.

First, in the world of crime, collusion or corruption, various complex circumstances arise which cannot be analysed in a straight manner. There can be various convoluted details which can obscure the reality of the incident. Moreover, the criminals would want to put in efforts to deliberately put the whole blame on any innocent person. In such cases, if the proofs are cunningly detroyed, the jury can put that innocent individual behind the bars due to the unforgiving laws. A scope of flexibilty for the laws seems to be necessary in these circumstances.

Imagine an unfortunate case where a group of people are hanging out on a roof top and suddenly one of the members falls off the roof into his demise. If later investigation proved that there was a quarrel between the victim and one the individual of the group, should that individual be declared guilty? What if in reality it was an accident and not a murder? Laws should include such cases and demand more investigation. There may also be cases where people when just having fun and playing silly games, can get themselves into trouble by a freak accident. It becomes very difficult to identify if that accident was deliberate or just an unfortunate mishap.

Some may argue that having a flexibility in the law system can only help evade the punishment to those who deserve it. But this statement seems flawed as getting an innocent life to face the repercussions of the crime they never committed is truly a bigger crime.

Thus, to conclude, having an appropriate amount of flexibility to the laws is crucial for a smooth and effective working and development of the society and for a noticeable reduction in the amount of wrongly charged punishments to the innocent individuals.