Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Many would assert that flexibly changed laws have several helpful ways to adapt diverse environments. In some senses, it is undeniable that the transformation of laws is required to meet people’s needs at different times and places. Only by exaggerating the virtues of flexibility of laws, however, does the view overlook the vices of unstable rules for the reasons of reliance from the public and basic right laws our society should keep.

Admittedly, the opportune changes of law seems to be beneficial for maintaining societal integrity. When it comes to a fast-paced society in which the economical and political environments are changing all the time along with the rapid development of technologies, it might be less rigid laws which are hardly changed than frequently amended laws that fit the societal needs of the citizens and companies. Blockchain laws, which is a law to meet newly changed financial environments, can enhance integrity without making people out of law by modifying the related laws flexibly. The point here is that amending laws following people’s needs can improve the social environment.

Nevertheless, it is not always necessary that flexibility of law is the most important priority. Considering reliance on laws from people, frequent changes on laws do not help social stability. In fact, a series of new laws related to new technology like smartphones made people confused since the law frequently changed the policies of their telecommunication fee, leading to people losing their reliance on laws. This indicates that frequent changes of laws are harmful for social integrity.

Moreover, maintaining laws can be encouraged in terms of basic right laws. Rather than changing the essential laws, basic laws about liberty, one of the essential rights among people, could be kept by conservative approach to the laws, helping people defend their right against the authoritative government. This also shows that laws without changes can enhance societal heath.

To sum up, despite the advantage of the flexible transformation of laws, reliance on laws and basic right laws tell us that flexibility is not always beneficial for the integrity of society. Were it not for a hasty ignorance of reliance from people and essential right of people, we could not conclude that the frequent changes in laws is the most helpful for social integrity.